Bug 1725 - NetworkManager "forgets" settings of a manually configured interface
: NetworkManager "forgets" settings of a manually configured interface
Status: RESOLVED WORKSFORME
Product: Desktop Bugs
Classification: ROSA Desktop
Component: GNOME edition
: Fresh
: x86_64 Linux
: Normal normal
: ---
Assigned To: Arkady L. Shane
: ROSA Linux Bugs
:
Depends on:
Blocks:
  Show dependency treegraph
 
Reported: 2013-02-25 19:03 MSK by Eugene Shatokhin
Modified: 2014-01-27 11:56 MSK (History)
1 user (show)

See Also:
RPM Package: networkmanager-0.9.6.4-2-rosa2012.1.x86_64
ISO-related:
Bad POT generating:
Upstream:


Attachments
Configuration file of VirtualBox VM used to reproduce the problem (7.63 KB, application/octet-stream)
2013-02-25 19:03 MSK, Eugene Shatokhin
Details

Note You need to log in before you can comment on or make changes to this bug.
Description Eugene Shatokhin 2013-02-25 19:03:29 MSK
Created attachment 1229 [details]
Configuration file of VirtualBox VM used to reproduce the problem

Description of problem:

I have ROSA Desktop Fresh 2012 GNOME ed. installed on a VirtualBox VM with 2 network interfaces (see the configuration file of the VM attached). 

The first interface is for NAT and is automatically configured. The second one is for host-only networking and I assign a static IP address to it. The problem is, after I configure the second interface, its settings are only remembered until reboot. After that they are reset to the defaults (to automatic IP assignment via DHCP, etc.)

How reproducible: 

After each reboot.


Steps to Reproduce:

1. Open "Network Settings" and select the network interface that should be configured manually. Press "Options".

2. (optional) One may enter the name of the connection for that interface to see how it will be restored back to the default "System eth<something>" after the reboot.

3. Select "IPv4 Settings" tab. Set "Method" to "Manual", specify IP and netmask in the appropriate fields below. Leave everything else at the defaults.

4. Press "Save...". I expected that some window asking for authentication would pop up but nothing happened. OK, press "Save..." again. Now the dialog "Editing ..." disappears.

5. If the network settings window shows the interface you have just configured is off, click on the switch to turn it on.

6. Sometimes the network settings window does not update for some reason and shows "Connecting" for the interface indefinitely. In this case, close and open "Network Settings" again.

7. Check that host-only connection works, for example, try to ping the guest system from the host by IP you have specified at the step 3.

8. Reboot the guest system.

9. Open "Network Settings" again and see that the settings you specified above were lost. They were reset to the defaults to be exact (including the name of the connection you may have set at the step 2).
Comment 1 Eugene Shatokhin 2014-01-27 11:44:00 MSK
Cannot reproduce the issue anymore.